Prof. Dr. Reto Steiner - Scholar of Public Management DEUTSCH ENGLISH

Reasonable Incentives Instead of Prohibitions

The Swiss people are united by one issue—outrage over the bonuses of the bank managers. The uproar is no longer noticeable only in letters to newspaper editors, but it is also physically seen in demonstrations in front of the UBS headquarters in Zurich. In crises, offenders and victims are often quickly identified, and suggested solutions are not long in coming. The offenders in this case are the managers; the victims, the rest of society. Solutions can be seen in the demand for maximum wages and the abolition of performance bonuses; individual politicians have even demanded nationalization and a reduction of the market economy.

But are these solutions useful? Do managers think and act differently than the rest of society? Do organizations managed by the government accomplish their tasks better? Motivation research provides impulses for the development of solutions. It shows that extrinsic and intrinsic incentives influence human behavior. Applied to the sport of tennis, it is the medals (extrinsic incentive) and the heart (intrinsic incentive) that motivate the athletes.

Extrinisic incentives are not immoral. It is important, however, that they promote desired behavior and that their use is controlled. Performance-based compensation should not lead to a focus on quick returns, but must instead promote a behavior that provides long-term benefit to the company or organization (e.g., customer satisfaction, few correlation risks, profits over five years). The granting of bonuses must be controlled by the owners of the company. Therefore, a clear strengthening of shareholder rights (voting on bonuses and competitive election of administrative board member) is necessary. Politics is no different—Legislatures and direct democracy prevent self-serving actions by executives.

When extrinsic incentives are too high, there is the risk that the intrinsic ones will be suppressed. The latter, however, are important because a medal can be won only when the heart of the athlete is actually involved. This includes the joy of the executives and their colleagues in their work. Such identification with one’s work cannot be regulated by law. It has to do with values. In this regard, parents and schools carry great responsibility, since education must demonstrate that commitment to society and customers, respect for individual stakeholders, and joy in the work itself are critical factors of success for a healthy national economy.

I am convinced that the establishment of reasonable incentives and controls, as well as an investment in values, will produce far greater results than the cultivation of outrage and the introduction of prohibitions. This applies to the private sector as well as to the state, since people act according to the same patterns in both institutions!

Prof. Dr. Reto Steiner - Experte für öffentliches Management DEUTSCH ENGLISH

Sinnvolle Anreize statt Verbote

Die Schweizer Bevölkerung eint ein Thema: Die Empörung über die Boni der Bankmanager. Die Aufruhr ist nicht mehr nur in den Leserbriefspalten spürbar, sondern durch die Demonstration vor dem UBS-Hauptsitz in Zürich physisch sichtbar geworden. Täter und Opfer sind bei Krisen oft rasch identifiziert und auch Lösungsvorschläge lassen nicht auf sich warten. Die Täter sind in diesem Fall die Manager, die Opfer der Rest der Bevölkerung. Lösungen sieht man in der Forderung nach Maximallöhnen und Abschaffung von Leistungsprämien, einzelne Politiker fordern sogar Verstaatlichungen und ein Zurückstutzen der Marktwirtschaft.

Doch sind diese Rezepte nützlich? Denken und handeln Manager anders als der Rest der Bevölkerung? Erfüllen staatlich geführte Unternehmen ihre Aufgabe tatsächlich besser? Anregungen zur Lösungsentwicklung gibt die Motivationsforschung. Sie zeigt auf, dass extrinsische und intrinsische Anreize das Handeln der Menschen beeinflussen. Auf den Tennissport übertragen sind es die Medaille (extrinsischer Anreiz) und das Herz (intrinsischer Anreiz), welche den Sportler antreiben.

Extrinsische Anreize sind nicht unmoralisch. Wichtig ist aber, dass sie erwünschtes Verhalten fördern und ihr Einsatz kontrolliert wird. Leistungslohn darf nicht zu einer Fokussierung auf rasche Rendite führen, sondern muss ein Verhalten fördern, damit es dem Unternehmen langfristig gut geht (z. B. Kundenzufriedenheit, wenig Klumpenrisiken, Gewinn über fünf Jahre). Die Ausschüttung der Prämien muss von denjenigen kontrolliert werden, welchen das Unternehmen gehört: Es braucht also eine deutliche Stärkung der Aktionärsrechte (Abstimmung über Boni und Kampfwahlen bei Verwaltungsräten). Dies ist in der Politik nicht anders: Legislativen und direkte Demokratie verhindern ein selbstgefälliges Handeln der Exekutiven.

Bei zu hohen extrinsischen Anreizen besteht die Gefahr, dass die intrinsischen verdrängt werden. Diese sind aber wichtig: Eine Medaille gibt es nur zu gewinnen, wenn das Herz des Sportlers schlägt. Dazu gehört die Freude der Führungskräfte und Mitarbeitenden an ihrer Arbeit. Die Identifikation kann nicht gesetzlich verordnet werden. Sie hat mit Werten zu tun. Hier tragen die Eltern und die Schulen eine wichtige Verantwortung: Bei der Erziehung ist aufzuzeigen, dass der Einsatz für die Gesellschaft und die Kunden, Rücksichtnahme auf die einzelnen Anspruchsgruppen und die Freude am Arbeiten an sich Erfolgsfaktoren für eine gesunde Volkswirtschaft sind.

Ich bin überzeugt, dass das Setzen von sinnvollen Anreizen und Kontrollen sowie ein Investieren in Werthaltungen deutlich mehr bringen als Empörungsbewirtschaftung und Verbote. Dies gilt für die Privatwirtschaft und den Staat, denn in beiden Institutionen handeln Menschen nach gleichen Mustern!