Prof. Dr. Reto Steiner - Scholar of Public Management DEUTSCH ENGLISH

Independents on the Rise

Males and in management positions—The chief politicians of the 2,596 Swiss municipalities can be described in this way. For the first time, the ca. 15,000 politicians in charge were surveyed by our university institute.

Only 23 percent of the chief politicians are women. Above all, in the city councils, the percentage of women—14 percent—is very low. Women are very strongly represented in the social, health, and educational spheres, while the areas of finance, construction, municipal utilities, and security are managed almost 90% by men. It may come as a surprise that the number of women is no higher in the younger generation than in the older one. This is not due primarily to a lack of interest, but rather in the female life cycle, which causes women to decide on a political career later in life.

It is not only the gender distribution that differentiates the chief politicians from the average Swiss citizenry. More than half of the men are self-employed or in upper managerial positions. Timewise, these men are probably more flexible, and they are not forced to reduce their workload. Furthermore, they wish to reap professional benefits from their political activities. This is not the case with women, almost half of whom have no managerial responsibility. In the case of men, however, this is true for only 16 percent.

Whoever wishes to be elected to a cantonal office must belong to a political party. This is not the case on the local level. The high number of independents—40%—is surprising if one remembers that, twenty years ago, only 20 percent of municipal politicians did not belong to a party. One reason may be that many municipalities have problems recruiting enough persons to hold office, so they are increasingly on the lookout for independents. In addition, party membership numbers have been decreasing.

Although municipalities must certainly make political decisions, for example, setting the tax base, only 12 percent of the executive authorities have a political understanding of their office. Many members of the executive authority are of the opinion that municipal matters are non-political. Only in the cities do a majority see their work as political.

When Swiss films, such as, the “Herbstzeitlosen” (Late Bloomers), focus on municipal politicians, the politicians are often given the role of village king. The survey of executive politicians shows that this image contains a grain of truth: Executive politicians frequently have deep roots in the communities; they come from the established middle class, and they identify strongly with their office. In contrast to real kings, however, executive politicians are not focused on money, and they know that it is necessary to win majorities. Service to the community is uppermost, and commitment to the militia principal is in their blood.

Prof. Dr. Reto Steiner - Experte für öffentliches Management DEUTSCH ENGLISH

Parteilose im Vormarsch

Männlich und in leitender beruflicher Stellung: So können die Exekutivpolitiker der 2‘596 Schweizer Gemeinden charakterisiert werden. Erstmals sind die rund 15‘000 politisch Verantwortlichen durch unser Uniinstitut befragt worden.

Nur 23 Prozent der Exekutivpolitiker sind Frauen. Vor allem beim Gemeindepräsidium liegt der Frauenanteil mit 14 Prozent sehr tief. Frauen sind ausserordentlich stark in den Sozial-, Gesundheits- und Bildungsressorts vertreten, während die Finanzen, das Bauwesen, die Gemeindewerke und die Sicherheit fast zu 90 Prozent in männlicher Hand liegen. Überraschen mag, dass der Frauenanteil bei der jüngeren Generation nicht höher liegt als bei den Älteren. Dies liegt nicht primär an mangelndem Interesse, sondern am Lebenszyklus der Frau, durch welchen sich diese eher spät für eine politische Laufbahn entscheiden.

Nicht nur bei der Geschlechterverteilung zeigt sich, dass die Exekutivpolitiker nicht dem schweizerischen Bevölkerungsdurchschnitt entsprechen. Mehr als die Hälfte der Männer sind Selbständigerwerbende oder in einer höheren Kaderfunktion. Diese sind wohl zeitlich eher flexibel und müssen ihr Arbeitspensum nicht reduzieren. Zudem mögen sie aus der politischen Tätigkeit für ihren Beruf Vorteile ziehen. Bei den Frauen trifft dies nicht zu: Rund die Hälfte der Frauen ist ohne jegliche Führungsfunktion, bei den Männern nur 16 Prozent.

Wer in ein kantonales Amt gewählt werden will, muss einer politischen Partei angehören. Anders auf lokaler Ebene: Die hohe Anzahl von 40 Prozent Parteilosen überrascht, wenn man davon ausgeht, dass vor zwanzig Jahren nur 20 Prozent der Kommunalpolitiker keiner Partei angehörten. Ein Grund mag sein, dass viele Gemeinden Probleme haben, genügend Personen für die politischen Ämter zu finden und vermehrt nach parteiunabhängigen Personen Ausschau halten. Zudem ist eine grundsätzliche Abnahme der Mitgliederzahlen bei den Parteien feststellbar.

Obschon Gemeinden durchaus politische Entscheide zu fällen haben, wie etwa die Festsetzung des Steuerfusses, haben nur 12 Prozent der Exekutivmitglieder ein politisches Verständnis ihres Amtes. Viele Exekutivmitglieder sind der Meinung, dass Gemeindeangelegenheiten unpolitische Fragen seien. Nur in den Städten versteht eine Mehrheit ihre Arbeit als politisch.

Wenn Schweizer Spielfilme wie die „Herbstzeitlosen“ Gemeindepolitiker thematisieren, dann kommt ihnen oft die Rolle des Dorfkönigs zu. Die Befragung der Exekutivpolitiker zeigt, dass an diesem Bild ein Körnchen Wahrheit liegt: Die Exekutivpolitiker sind in den Gemeinden oft seit langem verwurzelt, aus dem etablierten Mittelstand und identifizieren sich stark mit ihrem Amt. Im Gegensatz zu echten Königen sind die Exekutivpolitiker aber nicht monetär orientiert und wissen um die Notwendigkeit, Mehrheiten zu gewinnen. Der Dienst an der Sache steht im Vordergrund und das Bekenntnis zum Milizprinzip liegt ihnen im Blut.